10. Flying 

As a child, when asked what superpower I would want, I would generally have answered with whatever I thought would impress the people I was with. I was a pitifully shy and shamefully conscientious child. Secretly though, I’ve always had one answer. I would choose flight, wings, the ultimate freedom to explore the world on my own steam. As a late teen I had a lucid dream on one occasion, in which I could have chosen to do literally anything, in which I chose to fly. As an avid globetrotter, and truly nomadic soul, I will always feel the need to explore. All this considered, it is quite unfortunate that I suffer from acute and intense anxiety whenever on, in or even looking at airplanes. 

The extent of my plane problem is diminishing but at its peak I have been known to have lengthy panic attacks, have certainly irritated countless fellow passengers and even devolved into a tearful tragic mess, on more than one occasion when in flight. This is to my major embarrassment, I am in no other place or time ever this anxious. 

My suffering rationale revolves around the fact that my pre, and post, pubescent desire to grow wings and fly was, and remains, a non-realistic, harmless and childish aspiration. The fact that we can, in this modern age, board giant metallic birds and slice through clouds at a truly unnatural speed does not placate my whimsical dream. Instead, it perverts it and turns it into the resolution that solves the initial need but in a way that wasn’t wanted. Classic ‘be careful what you wish for’ movie trope.

As a result of this, On more than one occasion, I’ve found myself in truly memorable situations. For example, on a rare non-budget airline flight back to London from Athens, I found myself drinking to extraordinary excess with the cabin crew (that can’t be ok?) at the back of the plane. Alcohol was an easy solution to the anxiety problem.  What a crazy experience, I was petrified that I wouldn’t get through security when we landed Thank goodness for self-scanning passport kiosks (although it took me 3 attempts).

On another occasion, due to my size and strength, I was asked to act as a security guard for some petrified air hostesses who couldn’t handle a troublesome bunch of lads on a flight back from Miami to London. As with alcohol, Immediate security duties certainly helped temporarily remove my fear of flying.

Recently I have travelled a lot and although my plane dilemma remains, it is becoming more and and more manageable.  The reality is that a commercial flight is almost entirely safe, 

Anxieties.com tells us: 

‘If you flew every day of your life, probability indicates that it would take you nineteen thousand years before you would succumb to a fatal accident. Nineteen thousand years!’
(Anxieties.com)

Perhaps however, I need to go back to the drawing board when it comes to aspirational superpowers. 

Invisibility could be fun instead? 

Although there was a point in my childhood where I was, to all intents and purposes, unseen and that wasn’t fun. 

Moral of the story, in adult life you soon realise that becoming a superhero is generally ill-advised. Just be the best at being yourself. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine – USA) 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Flying has always been my passion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SheryL♥ says:

    Hi! Thanks for the follow! Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks! Really enjoyed your work too. Let’s stay in touch.

      Like

      1. SheryL♥ says:

        You’re welcome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Aishwarya says:

    This is such a fabulous blog, super glad to have come across !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thank you so much. That’s very generous. If you ever wanted to guest post with an inspirational story from your life then you are most welcome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aishwarya says:

        That would be my pleasure Eli 🙂

        Like

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Fantastic. I’m posting some more guest posts over the next week that explore life experiences that have brought joy through complication. I think everyone has at least one story.. What’s yours? Hit me with it!

        Eliwoodbine@gmail.com

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aishwarya says:

        Surely Eli, will get to you soon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        Great! Really look forward to it!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Aishwarya says:

        Mailed you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. eliwoodbine says:

        Beautiful post.. Fantastic work!! I will set it to go live soon. Does Sunday work for you?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Aishwarya says:

        Sure, it is absolutely as per your convenience 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      8. eliwoodbine says:

        Sunday gets good traffic! 🙂 want you to get as much as possible

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Aishwarya says:

        Ah okay , didn’t think of that aspect 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      10. eliwoodbine says:

        I want you to get a great response! 🙂 do you also have any social media platforms you can promote it on? Etc.

        Like

Leave a Reply

