49. Success 

Bad parents teach their children that uncontrollable circumstances will define all that they do, whilst good parents teach their kids that they ‘can’ be whatever they want to be. Great parents however tell the next generation, without doubt, that they ‘will’ be whatever they want to be. It is with this in mind that we analyse our approach to progression, success and control, in a bid to understand how our minds may be sabotaging us and limiting our ability to achieve. 

The difference between ‘I can’ and ‘I will’ may seem trivial to some, and admittedly it is a less distinct chasm than that between ‘I can’ and ‘I can’t’, but between these parallel mental lines there hides a secret that many never uncover, nor truly capitalise on. 

‘I can’ is a word that defines the speakers understanding that they have the ability to achieve the predetermined task. However, although the ability is identified, there is still space for failure. ‘I can’ can be very easily followed by ‘I could have’. The phrase holds doubt.

‘I will’ however allows little space for error. The speaker not only understands that they can achieve the task that is set out before them but also promises to complete it. There is space for ‘I would have’, and therein an opportunity for transgression, however the mental understanding of the phrase is very different to ‘I can’. ‘I will’ has the self assuredness and confidence to gamble, as all of life’s choices can never be fully promised, that the user will succeed as opposed to suggesting that they could fail. 

Think of your personal ambition. Can you get a promotion in your current role or will you? The difference between your answer will define whether you will accomplish the next step from conviction or merely luck. Those who fail, said ‘I can’t’ or ‘I can’, whilst those who have succeeded will have always said ‘I will’. 

I used to struggle with my weight. I tried to diet, I exercised, I juiced and I purged yet I didn’t lose the weight I wanted to. It was not until I knew I would that I did. Your mind is your most powerful ally and, as a human, you will spend your entire life learning from it, whilst simultaneously never properly understanding it. You can get your brain on-side or you can struggle to live disregarding it. One fact remains, Using ‘I will’ instead of ‘I can’ will allow the brain to uncompromisingly strive with you to achieve everything you desire.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Grand Canyon, 2015) 

Leave a Reply

