55. Gay 

 

As parts of the world continue to misunderstand and malign homosexuality, whilst other societies debate the nature of sexuality itself, I have been thinking of late as to what it means to be gay. Aside from the objective and material sexual preference, which is ultimately irrelevant when considering the soul, is there anything else that specifically defines this lifestyle? The other day I stumbled upon something of note. The following list is the meaning behind each of the colours present on a gay pride flag. To each, I’ve presented a photo and matching thought. 

Hot pink represents SEXUALITY

I took this photo in the Gay Village in Toronto. The wall is painted with imagery representing many different physical homosexual relationships. 

Red represents LIFE.

I took this photo in a small town south of London. The plant fought all odds to survive. Such is the power of life. 

  

Orange represents HEALING. 

This photo was taken of me as I jumped carefree on a riverside trampoline in Copenhagen. Before the trip I was stressed and overworked, I left Copenhagen feeling rested and healed. 

 

Yellow represents SUNLIGHT.

I took this photo on Wards Island on a freezing day; it was minus six degrees Celsius. I ran from one end of the island to the other, 6km, and then stripped off and ran into the sea. The following sunset was inspiring, and motivating, as I ran the 6km back in a bid to warm up. 

   

Green represents NATURE. 

I took this photo in Wittering, on the south coast of England. The natural beauty of Wittering and its beaches was captivating.

   

Turquoise represents MAGIC & ART. 

I took this photo at the Art Gallery of Ontario. The meaning of this piece is utterly subjective, but I found it to be an apt metaphor for life. 

  

Indigo represents SERENITY & HARMONY. 

I took this photo of a sleeping kitten whilst travelling in North America. It purred softly as it dozed in the daytime sun. 

  

Violet represents SPIRIT. 

I took this photo whilst hiking around the Grand Canyon in America. My time at the canyon was a truly spiritual experience and rejuvenating for the soul. 

  

The only value that is expressly missing from this righteous rainbow, in the plainest of terms,  is ‘Love’. However, in a nondescript way, and when interpreted wholistically, the flag does represent many values that can be considered close to this. 

In any case, if I am to fly the flag again soon, I now have a deeper understanding of what I am flying it for. 

(Photos – Eli Woodbine, Canada, England, USA, Europe, 2015-2016) 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Eli, your pictures are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      That’s very kind. Thankyou!

      Like

  2. Janice says:

    Lots of great photos here, but today my favourite is the Ward island beach shot…it’s fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the kind words. The only thing I love more than writing is taking pictures. Ward island is a spot where you can get some truly awesome shots.

      Thanks so much for the kind words.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Janice says:

        Your welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Janice says:

        I just realized I need to let you know…I did a quote post today as part of a ‘three quote challenge’ and I invited you to participate if it strikes your fancy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. eliwoodbine says:

        Oh wow. Thankyou. That’s very kind. 🙂 at the moment I have a very fixed routine of what I’m posting so I may not be able to jump on this time round but thanks so much for keeping me in mind. It’s much appreciated.

        Eli

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Janice says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

