94. Goodbye (Poem)

 

The day has come. The day it changes. 

Today, I am leaving my life behind in Europe to start a new one in North America. As I was born in Canada but have not lived there since I was a child, it is a strange homecoming. If you, like myself, emigrated at a young age then you will understand this peculiar sensation. 

It is a truly monumental day, so I have written this haiku. 

Won’t carry on here, 

Metal bird flies me away,

Sad but filled with hope. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Amsterdam, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

