125. Sleep 

  
It’s become painfully clear to me, since my lifestyle has changed, how not sleeping enough impacts on my ability to function. Both on a physical and mental level, sleep deprivation is a powerful foe and can stifle you from achieving what you wish from life. This new knowledge means that I take actions in the evening to aid my slide into sleep; such as not allowing any electronic devices to distract me past 10pm. That said, I still sometimes struggle to switch my brain into off mode. This haiku is about that very struggle.

Sleep, necessary, 

But quite hard for me to do,

My brain never rests. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Amsterdam, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

