126. Woodbine

  
I recently visited Woodbine, a small community in Ontario with which I share my name. I am probably the only person who has ever purposefully taken a photo of this sign, but it was exciting to me. It got me to thinking about the value of names and how I can hardly ever remember people’s names, whilst always remembering their faces. Perhaps it is the uniqueness of every face that my creative mind does not struggle to comprehend, or indeed the blandness of given names that dull in my minds eye. I wrote this haiku about my thought process. 

Name from where it came, 

But which name holds the most truth? 

I am what I am.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Woodbine, 2016) 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    Congratulations on that spectacular find, Eli. You should have a street sign made for your study. Or create a print of the photo. Very meta but interesting. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the thought Sabiscuit. Haha indeed I really should! Very Meta. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

