138. Romance 

 

There was a point in my life when I thought it was cool when bands sang about romance being dead, how love was a lie and that everything hurt. At this particular point, as an angsty and rebellious teen, I felt that love would never be something that came true for me. As I’ve grown into maturity (or at least as close to it as I am willing to slide) I’ve learnt to value romance for what it really is – when it is done well. My partner and I have been temporarily living on different contintents for over a month now and it’s been peculiar being alone. It’s also been admittedly quite tough at times. To try and cheer me up, he recently sent me a letter in the post. It was beautifully adorned, hand painted and the words captured within made me smile and feel deeply special. I wanted to capture this feeling in Haiku form..

Overseas it came,

Carried with steel wings on wind,

Needed dose of love. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

