149. Sunshine 

 

The power that the weather has on my mood is pretty remarkable at times. Whether it be psychologically ingrained into the fabric of my being, or indeed not, I will always argue that a sunny day will invariably be a happier one than a day spent cowering below a lifeless grey sheet. Blue-sky sunny days slide into nights aglow with stars whilst miserable grey days breed only lifeless blackness. 

It makes me wonder, how much of what is perceived through my very human eyes is affected by factors that I may not even consider on the day to day. How much of my inability to avoid frustration when a car drives through a red light, on an overcast day, is attributable back to the dankness of the day? On a sunny day I may instead simply sigh at the drivers inability to uphold the rules and smile, knowing that I am safe and enjoying the fact that I have not been killed by said drivers ineptitude. 

The key takeaway is that perhaps on the next day that the sun is hidden away, I’ll allow myself a little more space for frustration. 

My mood may be less in my control than I realize.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Craig says:

    Well we are brought up watching the weather forecast on TV and told that if it’s rainy or cloudy then it is going to be a ‘bad day’. This must stick with us subconsciously.

    I too feel the same though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      This is an amazing point Craig, I have never thought of it this way! Thanks for sharing your thought. Eli

      Like

  2. Kill says:

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the kind words Kill. Almost at the weekend! So no more boredom 🙂 Eli

      Like

Leave a Reply

