181. Indie

I played some indie games the other day, at an arts convention, that were all created by small teamed, regularly solo, local developers. There was a striking theme that connected all of these products, the proprietors of the stands and the fun extractable from playing the games. In short, all were far from perfect but all had an unexplainable essence to them, an essence that made them good. It got me thinking about my desire to start up my own business and inspired this following poem. 

The day I stop speaking yes to them and start saying yes to me, 
Is fearfully scary. 
I will lose my income, jump off the ladder, life off the radar,

But will I be gladder? 

It seems quite preposterous and I am bemused, 

By the thought that I could quite possibly lose. 

But all great things took a risk and I’ll take one too. 

So that’s what I’ll do. 

Yes. 

That’s what I’ll do. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, Toronto, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

