208. Golf

I was reintroduced to golf of late, after around 12 years of unplanned avoidance. It was a pastime that I had long forgotten, but almost as soon as I felt the weight of the club in my hand and scanned the green expanse of the fairway, I was connected to something that felt right. A sense of right that resonated all the way back to when my grandad, who taught me how to play, first told me to ‘keep my eye on the ball’. Golf inspired this following haiku about my grandad. 

Cyclical old friend

You may be gone for ten years, 

This is not the end 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, Toronto, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

