212. Conflicted 

Having been a vegetarian, pescatarian and meat-eater over the last few years, it would be safe to assume that I am somewhat conflicted about food. Add to the mix the fact that I’m also regularly intolerant to carbs, sugar and dairy and that sometimes these can cause horrific symptoms, I have developed what can only be described as a rather strange relationship with the sustenance that keeps us alive on the day to day. I wrote this poem about how I see food. 

Clean is the rule. 

Always. 

But I sometimes need cake to survive. 

Sugar is satan.

Always. 

But I always crave more, lest I try. 

Carbs make me sick. 

Rarely,

But they always make me feel fat.

Salad is God.

Praise it. 

But sometimes pizza is all that I want. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, Toronto, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

