218. Belly

As someone who cannot see anything but my ever-dimishing, yet ever-present, excess weight when looking in the mirror, I always feel a secret food-related shame to eating foods that I know are not productive of six-pack abs or the toned physique I so dreadfully yearn for. As someone who used to weigh over 300 pounds, now a healthy 180 for my height, I still often exist in the mindset that I am obese, although in reality this is no longer the case. I wrote this haiku about what I see when I look in the mirror. 

I see belly, yuk,

But your not a fat man now! 

Skinny? not enough. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That looks really good lol

    Like

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      It really, really.. Is 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

