228. Watermelon 

I was always teased at school for the fact that I was so open in admitting that watermelon is my favourite fruit. Even in adult life, many don’t quite understand this apparently fruity quirk, as if all respectable citizens prefer only bananas, apples or other more commonplace fruit. For me, watermelon is so much more than just a super sweet, soft-yet-crunchy watery treat, it is representative of a time of year, a mindset and an internal ideological interpretation of summer. As a seasonally summery fruit, watermelon only ever enters my life when the warm tendrils of summer have engulfed me in a near-indestructible positivity. Here is my haiku to watermelon.

Harder shells to crack 

Often glean a sweeter fruit, 

Watermelon, split. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

