230. Training

I ran my first 8km training run the other day, as part of the preparation for my upcoming half marathon. It was a mostly pleasurable experience, but for moments when I struggled against the runners wall, and I was pleased by my marked progress (however small). I used to weigh over 300lbs, so running was simply not an option back in the day. The simple fact that I am able to run, all things considered, is something that I am truly grateful for. I wrote this haiku about surpassing the runners wall. 

Goosebumps, shiver, sweat,

Body rewards the progress 

Step, step, on we go.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Toronto, 2016) 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marta Frant says:

    Great haiku, it embodies the core sense of running.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thankyou Marta, you are very kind. Eli.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

