237. Speed 

I went to the Indy racing in Toronto this week, down by the lakefront. I had not seen racing cars since going to the formula one in the UK last year and was excited to see the speed in action once more. Although I find the sounds of the racing grating and the fact that your enjoyment is reserved for a few fleeting seconds as the cars pass, I stayed for some time and simply let a childish awe wash over me. With these renewed eyes I started to wonder how it must feel to drive one of these incredible machines. I wrote this haiku about finding my inner child. 

Adult, what a chore

Slipping into little me, 

Whee, they go so fast.

(Eli Woodbine – Canada, Toronto, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

