251. Heaven 

Casting my eyes upwards, whilst standing in the shadow of an urban colossus, I could not help but feel so very, very small. As the looming bastions of finance peered down their perfectly preened facades at me, I couldn’t help but look further upwards – to the sky. I do not believe in a Catholic heaven, nor do I prescribe to any specific world religion. I do however find great spiritual fulfilment in the ceaseless beauty of the sky, swaddled around our little planet, and the quite infinite nature of the universe. I wrote this haiku about my spirituality. 

Read not from a book,

Bend no knee to men in robes, 

Simply love the world. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I like this one! Nice composition 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thankyou! 🙂 really appreciate your kind words. Eli.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

