257. Homeless? 

I’ve become so much more aware of homeless people recently. I’m not entirely sure why, but it seems as if they have been popping into my periphery wherever I’ve fixed my gaze over the last week (like a horrid FPS game for PS4). From those who I spare a dollar, to those who I walk straight past (we are all guilty of this), I can’t help but feel awful when exchanging sideways glances with these people who are objectivity far less fortunate than I; at this current moment in time. I leave this open ended as there is no way of truly knowing our financial stability in the years to come, and in an unfortunate eventuality (which may come to be), I may be on the streets myself. I wrote this haiku about karma. 

Give the man a dime, 

Then in dystopian times, 

He may spot you back. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Montreal, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

