264. Sans 

I’ve been alcohol free for 45 days now. Although alcohol has been far less than a friend to me over the years, I’ve never really had the intention, or strength, to stop drinking for good. Recently however, I’ve learnt that even though being grateful is partly a retrospective joy experienced when appreciating something, it is also something that we live in the presence of. We strive to not make he same mistakes we’ve made in the past. Wrapped within this for me is a very compelling argument for stopping drinking. I wrote this haiku

Goodbye vomiting 

Broken friendships, loss of hope, 

I’m ok, goodbye. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations to you! Well said, and great image too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Many thanks. I’m still going and there’s no real end in sight. This is one of the best things I’ve done.

      Thanks for the kind words of encouragement.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

