273. Guardian 

There is little space for anything but fierce loyalty and unconditional love in the glare of a guard dogs stare. This week, I spent some considerable time staring into this dogs eyes, trying to communicate, as he guarded his territory – the longboard shop. Humbly majestic, he paid little notice to my friendly courting and at one point glanced with such a playful – ‘seriously dude I’m busy’ – gaze that it made me laugh. I wrote this haiku about the experience. 

No one shall pass,

 I am tasked to keep this safe,

Bite as big as bark.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Toronto, 2016) 

Leave a Reply

