281. Manuscript 

Every writer that I’ve ever met has told me that writing a book is hard; often painfully so. I never used to quite comprehend how something as joyful as writing could become such a chore. That was until I started writing a book myself, one that I am fully dedicated to finishing. Unlike past attempts at writing books, where flawed story arcs, lost tangents, plot holes and general frustration brought my projects to an early end. I stuck with this one, through thick and thin, I pummelled it out and am now fast approaching the dreaded revisions stage. I wrote this haiku about writing. 

Easy when I start,

Then the dreaded hopelessness. 

Past which I’m complete. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Toronto, 2016) 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Lots of people think writing is hard work. The way I see it, it’s a completely elective activity. No one has to do it. And revision — that was something I didn’t fully understand until after I’d ruined any chance my first novel had at being published conventionally. I thought I knew a lot more than I actually DID know. I got the stuffing knocked out of me and then came something unbelievable, magical; the lesson I needed and an unbelievable teacher. You can read about it here if you’re interested. https://www.bragmedallion.com/blog/inspirations-mysterious-power/

    Now I know that revision is the place where — the work all done and out there — I can go into it and really “make” it what I want it to be. That’s where the art is, if that makes sense.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Phenomenal advise and I will most certainly read this. I’m very interested. I have a LOT to learn.

      I suffer from OCD, which leaves me forever feeling like my work is unfinished. Finding a way to define a finite end, through a proper set of revision stages, is something I am very keen to learn.

      Thanks for all your help!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. eliwoodbine says:

      I just read the post you shared and am so pleased that you shared this with me.

      Beyond the mere fact that you bother to advise me, which is a huge gift, I find something totally incredible about how similarly we think.

      Back when I was 20 I was in a partially ‘successful’ band. (We played some shows to crowds of 1500 people). Aside from the complications of a lifestyle that didn’t suit me very much, that and my alcohol problems, I was having some incredible experiences when writing the lyrics to my songs..

      I remember being asked in an interview once how I wrote songs, namely the most popular one I ever put out..

      I remember saying..

      ‘The best song I ever wrote, I never wrote’

      And this, I believe, is entirely in line with how your wrote the story of Martin.

      If so, it’s wonderful to meet someone like me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get what you mean. But then I did write it. It just took me 58 years go get it right. No, wait. 56. I didn’t start writing until I was 2, of course I couldn’t READ but, hey… 😀 The wonder of that book is that the protagonist became, for me, a living entity and I had to live up to HIM (knowing his story). That’s when I understood that I don’t just write a story; the story also writes me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        What a wonderful experience. Makes my philosophical mind race with thoughts regarding our human experience and the likelihood that our transient souls exist through many human shells.

        This may sound ridiculous, but have you ever wondered whether this story is in fact one you have experienced first hand, Just not as Martha?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve thought that, too, and wondered that, too. I had a very eerie and wonderful experience with my second novel that kept me awake for a few nights. https://savior1244.wordpress.com/about/

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        I’m pretty convinced that this biological bit of our existence may seem terminal, but in the dying of our atoms the soul is not destroyed.

        That sounds like an incredible experience too. I am at the start of my writing journey, I do hope it takes me to similarly incredible places as yours

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

