289. Next up 

About how the closer I get to completing something big, I’m ever-more seduced to start something new… 

Focus is easy right? 

Just keep eyes on the prize,

A Pulitzer,

Maybe Nobel?

Or just Grammy,

Or hell,

Just getting this done is a prize in itself,

If it wasn’t for shiny ideas.

Things I could start now,

Projects pleasant,

Wetter, 

And probably, honestly,

A little better,

Than what I have going, but how? 

I’m coming to terms,

For worse or for lesser, 

That I am a magpie, 

Seeking shiny forever. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    Great poem and OH so true… flitting from one idea to the next – I definitely NEED to focus! Thanks for this fab reminder x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      It’s the cruel reality of being creative. Haha. I’ve almost finished the book I’m writing, so so close to final first draft stage, and all I can think about is this other story that I want to write haha

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Wendy says:

        Oh no!! You’ve got to find your inner “completed/finisher” I struggle with that too… I’ve been writing my book for far too long and am nowhere near finished so well done to you for getting nearly to the finish line!!! One last push…. 😇xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        One last push! Always the hardest.. Haha. Good luck with your book. Let me know if you need any help with it. Eli

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wendy says:

        Thanks Eli – Good luck with yours too. What I need is someone to tie me to the chair and not let me move until I’ve finished it… haha! x

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        Haha. That’s one way. Or just set yourself a SMART goal and get it done!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Wendy says:

        You’re right of course..Timely Action! x

        Liked by 1 person

      6. eliwoodbine says:

        Always. How far is your manuscript along? What are you writing your book about?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Wendy says:

        Well now you’ve caught me out – I’ve got 2 on the go simultaneously – haha!! I’m about half way through each of them. One is a ‘motivational self help’ book and the other is a novel which tracks back in time to the early 1900’s and follows the journey of a young girls life starting in Ireland and coming over to Manchester.. I find my inspiration when I go away on holiday and have a clearer mind so at the moment they are both ‘on hold’ .. What’s yours about?

        Liked by 1 person

      8. eliwoodbine says:

        Ah nice, both very interesting sounding. Mine is a brutally honest recounting of how I reached a suicidal mindset, how I got out and how I learnt to find gratitude. Hoping I can help people who find themselves in similar depths find their way out.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Wendy says:

        That sounds deep and very inspiring. I’m sure it will help someone by providing hope that there is a life beyond those darkest hours.. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      10. eliwoodbine says:

        I certainly hope so too. Even if one person is helped then that validates all the darkness I’ve been through. Turning this darkness into something positive is really the greatest gift one can give the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Wendy says:

        It is Eli and you are incredibly honest and brave to share your experience too! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      12. eliwoodbine says:

        Great things have happened when I have been authentic. I hope this is another occasion. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Wendy says:

        I’m sure it will be! x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I mostly just write poetry and flash fiction so I have dozens of first drafts of poems. Some writers suggest always having at least two projects in the works in case you ever get blocked and don’t want to work on one you can work on another. Many artists begin new projects just as one is ending. I know when I post a poem I always have this feeling I will never have another poem move through me again. But I know that is not so; I have a whole file of first drafts that can always use some work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for sharing your experience, it’s very interesting to hear how other creative minds work. I am quite categorically unable to not have another project one the go. I regularly feel like I am drowning in a conscious, rambling, flow of ideas.

      Thanks again for sharing. Stay in touch 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You write beautifully. …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      This is very sweet. Thank-you so much! Please stay in touch. Eli

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Eli, most definately will do my best. Since i started blogging i struggle with reading and commenting on other bloggers, keep trying to find ways to stay on top of it. With varying degrees of success.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        I’m sure we all suffer from that too every now and again. Your intentions are good and that’s what matters most.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Very nice poem and so very true!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      I’ve almost finished my first book and all I can think about is the next one! Classic writers problems.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Couldn’t agree more!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The thought is so relatable, I tell you. The presentation of it is subtle , enough and appropriate. Good going man.Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Many thanks for the kind words my friend. Do stay in touch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

