295. Beguiling

About my disposition…

‘You in a bad mood?’

She laughed, 

Seeing only the smiling, 

Beguiling, skin of my mask.

‘Like sunflower?’ 

I joked, 

Showing only the sunniest, 

Beautiful yellow, I choke, 

As a sunflower sheds, 

Every petal, 

Eventually,

I can’t forget, that I’m a tiny bit, 

Dead.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. calensariel says:

    “I can’t forget, that I’m a tiny bit,
    dead…”

    I like this, because I know this… I wish I didn’t.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Hmm yes. It’s tough.

      But then that little bit of death makes the good times glow with a brilliance that those who do not see the darkness cannot understand.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calensariel says:

        Which makes a person seem a teeny bit “off” sometimes! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Haha indeed. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like that line, too… “tiny bit dead.” I definitely think that’s true of me… and I don’t think it’s such a bad thing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Indeed Sandra. It’s perhaps true of all of us who have had darker life experiences?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that’s true…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rowena says:

    “I can’t forget, that I’m a tiny bit,
    dead…”
    That’s such a great line. Doesn’t ring true to me at the moment, even though I’ve been home with the flu all week. I plan to be very much alive in a few days.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      It’s a strange thought for many. But for me, it’s relating to my dark times. The book I’m writing is what I learnt recovering from a suicide attempt and my journey to finding gratitude.

      However grateful and beautiful you become. There always remains the niggling darkness. Quiet, small but still very much there.

      In other news, GET WELL SOON!

      Eli

      Like

  4. Fijay says:

    It’s interesting that you talk about sunflowers ….I talk about noticing the dandilion popping up through the crack in the concrete …sunflowers/ dandilions both bright yellow ….both thrive in adverse conditions …and well …I like to think …we all know what happens to flowers some may consider weeds when they’re left unchecked 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      What a nice thought. Perhaps an interesting metaphor for a creative mind.

      As creative people we search for beauty in what other pass as nothing.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

