299. Fall 


About the sketch I drew absentmindedly yesterday… 

Silently praying for fall, 

I’m no longer thrilled, 

By the stroke of the sun, 

Living anxious for chill, 

And the hug of a coat. 

(Photo – Sketch by Eli Woodbine, 2016) 

18 Comments Add yours

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thankyou. That’s very kind of you to say.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love both the poem and your sketch Eli, they capture the spirit of this time of year so well! Thank you so much for sharing!☺🐾🐾

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      That’s so kind. 🙂 Thankyou.

      I really love this time of year.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stunning words, and your drawing is fantastic, as well! I love the detail on the tree; like a maze.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      It’s funny what comes out when you don’t think and you just do.

      Thanks so much for the kind words.

      Eli

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Eli, a beautiful post and presentation. The onset of fall is a lovely time of year, wonderfully captured by your words and sketch. Enjoy, “the hug of a coat”! Please have a lovely Sunday.
    ~ Mia

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thankyou for your kind words. I’m attempting to enjoy my Sunday but I’m admittedly a little slumped in mood due to ongoing existential questions.

      On the contrary, I hope you are having a lovely one.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Eli, you’re most welcome and thank you. It seems that the existential questions are quite loyal, they seem to be ever present, at least for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Cloying questions that offer prompts as to where one must be, as opposed to where one should be.

        They are so rarely one and the same.

        Eli

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Eli, I’ve decided to subscribe to the idea that we are exactly where we need to be a any given moment. Please know that I don’t believe in the daily affirmation, that all is good and happy if you just smile. This is a personal belief and I don’t expect anyone else to think as I do, I find those with creative minds, seem to suffer the angst of “purpose” far more than those that just appreciate the creative mind. It’s what I have come to accept in order to make it though the days that are challenging for a mind that is never quiet. Please Eli, feel free to correct my perception, I’m very open minded. Wow, how many times can I use the word “mind” or a form of it in one comment? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        It’s certainly an interesting thought and the book I’ve just written surrounds a similar notion. A notion that we aren’t ever as grateful as we should be for what we have and that the arduous nature of our life’s journey is good at restricting the joyous perspective. That we must fight this easy, insipid view in order to find peace. This is something that I realised is very true for me, in recovering from my darkest times.

        Retrospectively, I am able to account for all times I’ve been through – from good to bad – and understand there necessity in my grander story arc. But, in the moment, it can be harder.

        Thanks for sharing your thoughts,

        Eli

        Liked by 2 people

      5. Eli, thank you for a wonderful and thoughtful reply. ~ Mia

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Dear, I Wish I could Draw a Straight Line atleast. You people are so talented.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Haha aww that’s very sweet. It was just a little sketch I did in 20 minutes.

      Thanks for the kind words.

      Eli

      Like

  5. Ms. Cooper Cranes, I went to this page https://coppercranes.wordpress.com/
    I watched one video of a woman and man struggling in backward motion.
    Why am I not able to comment on your posts ?

    Like

  6. I love that sketch. It’s so uncluttered, blustery, and full of movement.
    As for the end of summer, the season gets a sort of shabby tired look to it, when it’s neither one thing nor another. There’s an edge of excitement to be found in that early morning autumn chill.
    Yes, the snuggled-into-padded coats season is nearly upon us, when we can stride out in blustery winds, walking fast to keep warm, returning home with rosy faces!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      What a wonderful interpretation of the inherent charms of Autumn.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts,

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

