301. Rich 

Speaking to the future self that I don’t wish to become…

While you crave a faster car,

I’ll just learn to run as far, 

You’ll acquire a huge TV, 

While I’ll be out free, climbing trees. 

You’ll horde your money, count it high, 

I’ll numerate the stars at night,

Your corpse may swim in lot’s of cash,

But I’ll be rich for what I’ve had. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful! ☺ What would the Future You you want to be say to the you of now? ☺

    Liked by 3 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Good question, it would follow this theme:

      Forget the safety of mediocrity,
      And face material poverty,
      Failure,
      And fear,
      To write.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, a very powerful sense of calling in those words! :o)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        I guess so. It’s a little daunting. But no good story starts with an easy choice.

        Eli

        Liked by 1 person

  2. How Humble of You. Such a Cute Poem. I Love the Words.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the kind words. It’s very sweet of you.

      I hope you are well?

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m Living for Completing the Work, God has sent me on Earth to do. Then I will Leave and become a Fairy.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Becoming a fairy could be rather fun.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice poem. Liked the concept of true sense of rich.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thankyou for your kind words.

      I certainly try and balance things.

      Do stay in touch.

      Eli

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

