321. Better


I took this photo whilst exploring a Canadian nature reserve. Whilst on this 24km trek, I had a thought about death.. 

I don’t know how it was before, 

Or how long I’ve got left, hope more, 

Remember heart, 

I’ll pray I’ve made it better, 

When I meet the floor.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this poem. Your prayer is mine.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the kind words. Our intentions are good, and we will try to help the world heal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “I expect to pass through this world but once. Any good, therefore, that I can do or any kindness I can show to any fellow creature, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it for I shall not pass this way again.” Was on a bookmark I had as a kid — and another later in life. It’s been attributed to Stephen Grellet, a Quaker, but no one is sure. I like it.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Phenomenal. I really like it too. It’s a cultural theme that runs through most religious and spiritual ideologies.

        I would love that as a bookmark.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am! and commented:
    Beautiful poem and prayer. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A good way of writing and a good pic. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

