346. Stranger 

About looking back at old photographs of yourself… 

His smile awkwardly slips,

Across a similar rounded face,

On which perch colour matched pearls, 

Eyes, that whisper I don’t know you,

Not then, at least,

Even though I became you. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey Eli so simply marvelous words and looking cute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Haha thanks Kamal. It’s odd to think I was a baby once..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so odd to think back on all the women I’ve been. There seem to be a few inalterable threads — I always have a bicycle and feel incomplete without one. I found three old photos of myself today; in one I’m 2, in the next I’m 10, in the third I’m 15. The only “girl” I feel is me is the 10 year old. I don’t know why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      It’s so odd isn’t it? We were there then, but aren’t now. But in some ways, in capturing then we are eternally then, but at once not.

      Oh I’m so whimsically confused.

      Maybe the answer to life is, have a bicycle at all times.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the bike might be the secret. I had a great ride today on a paved country road through miles of the beautiful emptiness ringed by mountains that is the paradise where I live.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        It sounds glorious. A little slice of heaven on earth! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is. For a long time after I moved here, I half-wondered if I’d died. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        Haha, with no one else around to qualify it one way or another, one can totally understand your predicament.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

