372. Esteem

About seeing yourself how you see others… (Noting the photo above) 

Me through my lens for someone else: 

He’s quite cute I thought,

I would, 

Most certainly,

Caress that beard,

And gaze intent at his tattoo,

And maybe steal a kiss. 

Me through my lens for me: 

I hate those bags, under my eyes,

I hate the skintag, no surprise,

I don’t much like all that I see,

I wish people would swoon at me.

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2016) 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I hate the lenses that we have for ourselves. The first is more accurate by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      I know right? We are always so critical!

      Oh really? Haha. Thankyou. That’s very sweet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Meg Sorick says:

    Oh Eli, don’t use a microscope… although I suppose we’re all guilty of that to some extent. I believe the first description is more accurate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      That’s very sweet Meg! If only I could see myself how I would see someone seeing me. Haha. That’s a mouthful!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Meg Sorick says:

        Aw, well at least you know that others see you that way!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        That’s very sweet of you. I’m starting to learn to see myself that way. I guess coming from a place being obese has skewed my perspective of myself. I’m way too critical about how I look!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Meg Sorick says:

        I’m sure it’s not easy changing that way of thinking. Try though! You’re fit and healthy now! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        That’s very true! Haha. Body has changed, soul has changed.. Mind will too with time. X

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I did this once, in 2004, in Italy. I took a photo in the mirror with my camera and downloaded it to my laptop. I took a photo with my glasses off. I wanted to see what other people saw. I wanted to see myself as a stranger. I succeeded after a while, alienating myself from my own face. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      That’s brilliant! I experience the same thing when I do photoshoots. I look at the photos and think, if only I really looked like that! Whilst knowing that I in fact do.

      The mind is so odd.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

