421. Halt 


About this dam I found on a trek, that had totally frozen over… 

What may halt the course of time?

Perhaps we think our little drip, 

Into the ocean might? 

Until we aren’t,

And all still is. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2017) 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yep. Like my grandpa who used to dispel his childrens’ sense of self-importance by putting a finger into a bucket of water and pulling it out again. “That’s our lives,” he said.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      That’s amazing. And so so very true. Wise man!

      I often wonder why people continue to pursue obtuse ends? … Like the accumulation of stuff.

      But then perhaps, we are hardwired not to truly come to terms with our mortality until we age.

      Who knows

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s an enormous question. My dad had MS, so all the time I was growing up he was visibly dying — and reading me the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayaam. So that question has always been in my mind. Still, at that point it was just about “the moving finger writes, and having writ moves on” mortality was kind of an idea.

        I don’t know if we are supposed to understand it until we’re older. I kind of think we’re not.

        I don’t understand the accumulation of stuff. I don’t understand the drive to shop and to acquire. If I’m hunter-gathering myself (and I do) it’s with the dogs out in nature and I gather images. They think I’m a really good hunter, too, because there is ALWAYS food when we get home. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        That’s a wonderful thought! Very intriguing.

        I am completely in line with you when it comes to capitalism. I do find the ceaseless need for more stuff really peculiar. I don’t ever want new clothes or new things. There is a library with all the books I could ever read, a forest with all the adventure I would ever want and people who offer far more entertainment that things.

        I also love gathering images.

        It is a strange world that we live in.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Classic. Timeless and time-full. Words and image.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Thanks for the kind thought in response to my words. I’m glad they resonate.

      Stay in touch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

