429. Childhood 

About my childhood…

‘You’re sick’ he spread, 

It’s what the preacher man said,

So that’s what you are.

The most innocent me, bought in, 

And this made me sore, 

To the core, over time. 

‭No wonder I sob now – ages gone, 

Bitter, removed, 

Clinging to beautiful truth. 

(Photo – Eli Woodbine, Canada, 2017) 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Yep. They do that. I got thrown out of Sunday school for taking issue with god creating the world in 7 days, for saying, “I think that’s poetry. It really took us longer to evolve.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eliwoodbine says:

      Haha fantastic! The awful hand of religious oppression also almost crushed me, until I realised that being me was not a crime.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah religion. How little it has to do with god… I ultimately got thrown out of my church when I was 18. Oh well.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. eliwoodbine says:

        Remarkably little to do with God. Haha.

        And that’s good for you! I tried to help people within it find truth and gave up. It’s a close minded, sheep mentality mindset that I so abhors. Have a fucking opinion of your own, stop regurgitating platitudes and love your fucking neighbour haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Goethe said “I am not anti-Christian. I am not unChristian. I am simply not Christian.” Rumi said that for those who love God there is no religion but God. Fearful sheep is right 🐑

        Liked by 1 person

      4. eliwoodbine says:

        Fear is a wonderful way of suppressing and manipulating people. What is more fearful than upsetting God? …

        So one must pay their tithes and bend their knee and fear damnation.

        Basically the opposite of what one does when one realises that God is an intangible, indescribable and liberating force that we can only access as humans through love.

        I completely agree with you.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. What blows me away is the idea that God needs us to sing his praises. I like church music in and of itself, but as for God needing it? Or having ego issues over whether he’s #1 or not? So bizarre. All my novels are about religion… But I think my life is just that of a little person going around in nature going “Wow!” and “Thank you whoever/whatever, this is AMAZING,” and trying to be kind and trying to serve my gifts to the best of my ability.

        Long ago — really long ago — I understood that is my job in the universe. “Here’s your job, Martha.”
        “Just that? There has to be more!”
        “Well, if you say so.”
        “You mean it doesn’t need saving?”
        “No, it’s fine. Just do your bit as you encounter it. You’re going to have a lot of surprises. Have fun!” ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      6. eliwoodbine says:

        I love your life philosophy and would enjoy to live that way myself. However, and perhaps it’s my physical youth, but in dreams I am always searching for something. I may merely be a dog chasing his own tail, not wise enough to see it yet.

        Totally agree on the strange need to be #1 . My Dad once said ‘there’s lots of religions and everyone is searching for the same truth, we’re just the closest’

        YUK!!!

        He was very wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I found what I was looking for when I was in my mid/late 20s. Then my quest was to do it as long as possible, and I did. I was looking for the thing that would make me happy. By accident, I found it, the next thing was to be sure I could keep doing it. It was not at all what I imagined it would be when I set out, but it was absolutely clear and obvious when I discovered it. That was when I got my “job description.” ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      8. eliwoodbine says:

        You found your raison d’etre. That’s such a gift. I am so happy that you’re leading a purposeful existence.

        I’m now 27 and still figuring it out. Ha.

        Life is very peculiar.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Just keep the doors, windows and eyes open… I found it by volunteering to do something mostly because I had nothing better to do at the time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      10. eliwoodbine says:

        Hmmm. Interesting. I sure hope I find it soon! 🙂

        I have a feeling it may be far more in the service of other people than what I am doing currently.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. 🙂 (non-existent emoticon of sparkly stars)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

